Mt Cornish Homestead
- 600009
- Mt Cornish Homestead, Muttaburra
- General ( https://apps.des.qld.gov.au/heritage-register/detail/?id=600009#tab-general )
- Significance ( https://apps.des.qld.gov.au/heritage-register/detail/?id=600009#tab-significance )
- History ( https://apps.des.qld.gov.au/heritage-register/detail/?id=600009#tab-history )
- Description ( https://apps.des.qld.gov.au/heritage-register/detail/?id=600009#tab-description )
- Maps & Gallery ( https://apps.des.qld.gov.au/heritage-register/detail/?id=600009#tab-images )
General
- Also known as
- Mount Cornish Homestead
- Classification
- State Heritage
- Register status
- Entered
- Date entered
- 21 August 1992
- Type
- Pastoralism: Homestead
- Theme
- 2.3 Exploiting, utilising and transforming the land: Pastoral activities
- Construction periods
- 1876, Homestead (timber)
- 1883, Stone Extension
- Historical period
- 1870s–1890s Late 19th century
Location
- Address
- Mt Cornish Homestead, Muttaburra
- LGA
- Barcaldine Regional Council
- Coordinates
- -22.55175826, 144.61256733
Street view
Photography is provided by Google Street View and may include third-party images. Images show the vicinity of the heritage place which may not be visible.
Significance
Criterion AThe place is important in demonstrating the evolution or pattern of Queensland’s history.
The summary information for this place is currently under review.
History
Mount Cornish was established on the head of the Thomson River in 1872 as an outstation of the Bowen Downs property which was taken up by William Landsborough in 1861. The Edkins family, along with 12 000 head of cattle were sent to manage Bowen Downs Station, from which Mount Cornish was later resumed. Prior to the construction of a wooden house in 1876, the Edkins lived in a simple mud hut with a roof of bark. In 1883,a stone section was added to the wooden house. It comprised two rooms surrounded by a verandah. The white stone was quarried approximately one mile from the site and it is thought to have been constructed by two highly skilled German masons. Mount Cornish was partially resumed in 1889. The property was again divided in 1895 and this was followed by droughts which lasted until 1902. Bowen Downs was partially resumed after the lease expired in 1927 and continued to operate as a sheep and cattle run until the 1960s.
Description
The summary information for this place is currently under review.