Skip links and keyboard navigation

Lockyer Hotel

Victoria Street, Forest Hill

Add to favourites

This charming country hotel was built in 1906 and continues to add character and aesthetic appeal to the town today. The township of Forest Hill emerged in the late 1890s as the result of an initiative by the Queensland Government to encourage agricultural settlement in the region. Forest Hill became a focal point for the surrounding agricultural district and was thriving in the early 20th century. Local farmer Alex McAllister built the Lockyer Hotel during this period, having acquired the site in 1897. The two-storey timber hotel was the third hotel in town. It was designed by Ipswich architect Henry Wyman. In October 1906, Frederick William Wilson took out an eight year lease on the property; however, the lease was transferred to local hotelier Janet Meredith in 1907. Mrs Meredith had previously held the license of the Station Hotel in Forest Hill (built c1900). Soon after she took over the Lockyer Hotel, it gained a reputation as an outstanding establishment. In 1911, she added a coffee-room, a dining-room and several private parlours. Acetylene gas was also installed throughout the hotel at that time. The hotel remained in the Meredith family until 1969. In the late 1970s, a rear annex, including the dining room, was added.

Coordinates: -27.58936545, 152.35713282

Full details of this heritage-registered place are in the Heritage register.

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)
Last reviewed
1 July 2022
Last updated
28 February 2023