Skip links and keyboard navigation

State Government Offices (former)

419 Flinders Street, Townsville

Add to favourites

Former State Government Offices (2009); Heritage Branch staff

Former State Government Offices (2009)

Former State Government Offices (2016); Paddy Waterson

Former State Government Offices (2016)

The State Government Offices in Flinders Street Townsville were designed by the architects of the Department of Public Works, with Andrew Baxter Leven as the Chief Architect. Construction was undertaken during 1929. Staff of a number of government departments relocated to the new building in January 1930. These included the State Insurance Office, Public Curator, State Children and Health Departments, Titles Office, Stamp Duties, Lands and Marine, Machinery and Mines. This is one of the earliest examples of construction of multipurpose state government offices. It is very similar to other government buildings of this time, including the Cairns Courthouse, Cairns City Council building and Post Office, Maryborough Government Offices and Maryborough Town Hall. The building was designed to accommodate another storey above the entablature, with provisions made to install a lift if this third storey eventuated. It was designed to ensure adequate lighting and natural ventilation in this tropical location.

Coordinates: -19.26142531, 146.81512439

Full details of this heritage-registered place are in the Heritage register.

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)
Last reviewed
1 July 2022
Last updated
28 February 2023