Skip links and keyboard navigation

Halse Lodge

17 Noosa Drive, Noosa Heads

Add to favourites

Halse Lodge (1995); EHP

Halse Lodge (1995)

Halse Lodge (1995); EHP

Halse Lodge (1995)

Halse Lodge (1917); State Library of Queensland

Halse Lodge (1917)

Halse Lodge (1928); The State Library of Queensland

Halse Lodge (1928)

Halse Lodge, tucked into the lush coastal rainforest on the edge of Noosa Heads, is the last of the timber guesthouses; once the only forms of accommodation here. The property was originally owned by Walter Hay, credited with establishing Noosa. He built Bay View guesthouse on the site in 1882. The house was extended over time and substantially rebuilt in the 1920s when became known as Hillcrest Guest House. In 1959 the property was acquired by the Anglican Church and renamed Halse Lodge after the Archbishop. The house was used for group accommodation. It was leased to managers in 1988 and substantial renovations were undertaken at this time. Through the 1970s and ‘80s, Noosa boomed as a holiday destination. Guest houses and holiday flats along the beachfront were being replaced by modern brick and concrete apartments and hotels, as Hasting Street evolved into one of the most exclusive accommodation and restaurant precincts in Australia. The two storey timber guesthouse Halse Lodge, now operates as backpacker accommodation, and is a step back in time to a simpler and more affordable beach holiday experience.

Featured in this trail:

Coordinates: -26.38909304, 153.09229615

Full details of this heritage-registered place are in the Heritage register.

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)
Last reviewed
1 July 2022
Last updated
28 February 2023