Skip links and keyboard navigation

Westpac Bank

337-343 Flinders Street, Townsville

Add to favourites

Westpac Bank (2016); Paddy Waterson

Westpac Bank (2016)

Westpac Bank (2016); Heritage Branch Staff

Westpac Bank (2016)

first Bank of NSW in Townsville (1873) State Library of Queensland; State Library of Queensland

first Bank of NSW in Townsville (1873) State Library of Queensland

This 1935 structure was the third office for the Bank of New South Wales built in Townsville. The Bank of New South Wales, founded in 1817, was intimately associated with the early development of Townsville, as Robert Towns, the co-founder of Townsville, was a bank director. The first branch was established here in rented premises in 1866. The bank’s first purpose-built premises opened in 1869 on the corner of The Strand and Wickham Streets. A new branch was built on the corner of Flinders and Wickham Streets in 1887. As the business district shifted westwards along Flinders Street, the bank purchased property on the corner of Flinders and Stokes Streets, initially leasing shops here. Brisbane architect F R Hall was commissioned to design a new building, comprising offices and shops as well as bank facilities. The builders were Stuart Brothers from Sydney, and it was considered one of Townsville’s most imposing edifices when built. Following the acquisition of the Commercial Bank of Australia in 1982, a new company was formed, named Westpac. Westpac operated from this site until early 2017.

Coordinates: -19.25966728, 146.81649589

Full details of this heritage-registered place are in the Heritage register.

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0)
Last reviewed
1 July 2022
Last updated
28 February 2023